Bucharest & Having Too Much Coffee Man!!! 

Doing a specialty coffee shop circuit wasn’t my intention when I went to Bucharest. It was as what Bob Ross said, a happy little accident. It wasn’t my intention but it greatly shaped my experience in Bucharest. Now, I forever associate Bucharest with great coffee and even greater people. Although as a result of all the coffee I drank, there were days when I felt like this:

I’ll break it down to which coffee shops I went to per day click on the names of the coffee shops for their address. I’d like to add that this is a non sponsored post. I just like coffee.

Day 1

ORYGYNS Specialty Coffee 

This is the place that started it all and it’s all because of Alexandra. She’s the manager of Orygyn and she can make a great coffee. What I like about this place is that they switch their coffee beans up. Every two weeks they change their source. She told me that their beans usually come from Burundi (my favorite), Ethiopia, and of course Colombia. This is a very welcoming coffee shop with a friendly staff.

Alexandra also introduced me to an espresso tonic. This is something that you can drink during the summer all day. She’s the one that started it all for me. Without her help and recommendations my stay in Bucharest would’ve been very different.

Click here for more photos. 

Day 2

Now with a goal in mind I had a plan. While I’ll be going around and exploring the city. I’ll be going to the coffee shops that Alexandra recommended. A sort of 2 for 1 deal. See Bucharest and also experience their growing specialty coffee scene.

I was forturnate this day because I was able have my hostelmate Mona join for me for two out of the four shops I went to.

Artichoke 

The first order of the day was an espresso for me and a cappuccino for Mona. I’m happy to say that both tasted the way they’re are supposed to taste, Not too sweet for the cappuccino and their beans aren’t over roasted. The espresso tasted sharp and clean. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to talk to manager or owner of the place.

The place is tucked away at a side of a building. It’s near the art museum. So if you ever need a pick me up before or after some art, then head on over there.

Click here for more photos.

Fellow One

After my time at Natural Museum I headed over to Fellow One. I had a cold frappuccino this time because it was just too hot that day. Fellow One is a great place. The decor is inviting and you can totally see yourself sitting for a bit and enjoying the coffee. The frappuccino was sweet but not cloyingly so.

Click here for more photos.

Steam

After a tour around the Village Museum Steam was next on the list. It’s a good thing that it’s only about 10 minutes away. Steam is in a residential area so just follow Google maps for exact directions. As a bonus Mona’s back!

I have to say that steam is one of my favorite places in Bucharest. Their espresso tonic is another all day drink. Looking around the store the beans that they were using they day were Ethiopian. Steam is a must go coffee shop for me.

Click here for more pictures.

M60

M60 was the last stop of the day. Also, as a bonus it’s only minutes away from my hostel. M60 is definitely that coffee shop that you’ll go to with your laptop and spend your day there. This is the first place I’ve ever been to that adds oranges to their cold brew. The oranges added another layer of freshness to their cold brew. It’s something I’ll start doing at home. Lastly, I came back to M60 and tried their food and trust me when I say try their chicken sandwich.

Click here for more photos.

Day 3

Boiler

The third day started with a little bit of a drizzle that didn’t let up. While you won’t get soaking wet the constant rain does get annoying. Fortunately, Boiler was only 10 minutes away from my hostel. When I got there the barista at the front was also the owner. Paul really knows what he’s doing and he has a clear vision of how he wants his coffee shop to be. He takes his influences from Japanese and American designs. You can see that all the lines are sharp and clean in his shop. The sign for the coffee and the lights are a bit bombastic relative to the place. This was all done by design. Paul isn’t shy about his love of Japanese culture, there are One Punch Man mangas in the shop! This just added to my love of the shop already.

The coffee here is phenomenal. Paul sources his beans from Colombia, Burundi, Ecuador, and Spain. Those are just some of the places that I remember that he mentioned. The espresso was done to perfection. You can really taste the sharpness and fruitiness of the beans. He was using beans from Colombia that day. As a treat he also made an espresso tonic for me. It was the sweetest I’ve ever had and that’s without any other ingredients. Just an espresso and plain tonic water. This goes to show that Paul really cares about where he sources his beans from. The ingredients that he uses in his shop are top notch.

I was only able to go to one shop on the third day. I’m glad that it was Boiler.

Click here for more photos.

Day 4

This was my last day in Bucharest and I made the most out of it. The mission today was coffee. I saw all I wanted to see in terms of Bucharest’s sites.

T- Zero

The first shop I went to was T Zero, Ciprian is the owner and fortunately he was also the barista that day. Ciprian is such a great guy, he’s funny and a great person to talk to. Like all great coffee shops he rotates his beans every few weeks or so. His beans come from Colombia, Ethiopia, Burundi, Spain, and other places too. 

I really like the decor that he has going on in his place. It’s a bit macabre but in a very funny way. The mannequins he has hanging on the wall and the ceiling are a riot. Another great thing that he has which is actually a feature in all of these shops is the outdoor seating. It really is a place to gather with your friends. 

The espresso he makes his excellent. The combination of good beans and a great technique is all that’s needed. Fortunately, Ciprian has both. I had a great time in his shop so go for a visit. 

Click here more photos. 

Ivy

Ivy is literally just a few steps away from T Zero. Just walk about a minute and voila! You’re there. It was really hot at this point in the day and I wanted something cold. I’m happy to say that Ivy delivered. 

Manning the front that day was Petru. He’s an extremely friendly guy so go have a chat with him. I wanted an espresso tonic but he did one better. He made an espresso tonic with elderflower. I have to say out of all the espresso tonics I’ve had this is my absolute favorite. The elderflower adds a sweetness that’s not cloying. It actually added to its refreshingness. They also make other types of espresso tonic mixes so have more than one. 

Ivy’s space is big so having a big group won’t be a problem. Have an espresso at T Zero then walk over to Ivy for an espresso tonic and your day would be good. 

Click here for more photos. 

Labirint Concept Store

I was headed to the Parliament building and fortunately Labirint is on the way. What Alex is doing with his shop is very cool and interesting. It’s basically one stop shop for street culture. 

First, the coffee. The espresso is great. The beans are great and it was made very well. What makes this place awesome is what else he’s doing with it. It’s a place to gather. It’s in a former parking lot so space is definitely not a problem. He mentioned that in the summer he’ll have special events in his space. There’s an actual store for street wear clothing too. Right now he has shirts and sneakers with more to come. You can see that there are bikes and bike paraphernalia everywhere. This is by design because originally he wanted it to be a bike shop. 

Labirint is definitely a place to watch out for. Specialty coffee is just one thing, but I also think he wants to make it into a cultural center for the cool in Bucharest. I look forward to see how his place will be in a year. 

Click here for more photos

VanFruct

My last stop of the day is VanFruct. In terms of decor, to me this the most unique. VanFruct is doing something a little different. Aside from coffee they also serve shakes, vegetarian and vegan food. Aside from my espresso I also had an avocado shakeStefan also graciously let me sample a waffle with avocado, tofu cheese, and the best paprika sauce I’ve ever had. His mom makes the sauce by the way. 

His espresso is more on the fruity side. That’s done intentionally. He likes his coffee on the lighter and fruitier side. It’s also to match the motif that he has going with his place. After drinking the first one he asked me how I liked it. I told him that I usually have my espresso a bit stronger. So, unbeknownst to me he made two more espressos from the same beans but used different extraction methods. The result was like night and day. The taste of the espresso got stronger and more potent. Just the way I like it. It goes to show you that a skilled barista can do many things. So, if you like your espresso strong just let Stefan know. 

While chatting he mentioned that he too rotates his beans every few weeks or so. That day we had beans from Ethiopia. His other beans come from Colombia, Burundi, and Spain. 

Give Stefan’s shop a try. Aside from the coffee make sure to try his food too. Trust me you won’t be disappointed. 

Click here for more photos. 

The specialty coffee scene in Bucharest is growing. There are many people there who are passionate about their coffee. Everyone that I met and talked to would love to see the specialty coffee shops grow and for Romanians to have access to great coffee. 

On a personal note I’d like to thank everyone that I met during my coffee circuit. I just came in and started talking to you all and each and everyone of you were so friendly and welcoming. I will always associate Bucharest with coffee and from the bottom of the heart I’d like to again say a big thank you to all that I met. You all made my time in Bucharest unforgettable! 

Leave a Reply

